The Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS was introduced from September 2008, revised in September 2012, 2014, and April 2017, it is a framework that sets the standards for learning, development and care for children. This framework includes the legal requirements that must be followed by all settings, as well as practice guidance for all those working with children.

The main principles of the EYFS are grouped into four main themes as follows:

A Unique Child recognises that every child is a competent learner from birth and focuses on development, inclusion, safety, health and well-being.

Positive Relationships shows how secure relationships with others help children learn to be strong and independent and focuses on respect, partnership with parents, supporting learning and relationships with nursery staff.

Enabling Environments focuses on the importance of the environment in supporting children’s learning and includes observation, assessment and planning, the learning environment and working with others.

Learning and Development shows how all children learn in different ways

and at different rates as well as how equally important and inter connected all areas of learning are. The educational programme is part of this theme, with Early Learning Goals in the six main areas.

  • Personal, Social and emotional Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Expressive arts and design
  • Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

The EYFS sets standards to enable early year’s providers to deliver individualised learning and care that enhances the development of all children.